Tough Days

Well, I almost deleted my blog because I decided it was too much work.  It’s so tough taking care of a baby sometimes, and I barely find time to get anything done, let alone writing in a blog.  But… well I guess the bug bit me again, and so here I am to update on the past couple of weeks. Olivia is really starting to explore her voice now.  She has a very interesting way of “screaming” which she mostly uses to express glee, and I’m starting to think that she is trying to imitate me singing.   She adds all kinds of cooing and ga-ga’s into the mix, too, and it’s just overall super cute.  Oscar and I love to “talk” with her. Olivia laughing and singing Although she has really learned a lot with her voice and it is super fun to watch her, we are fighting with another old enemy, burping.  She seems to have regressed a bit with burping…  and I often find myself putting her to bed only to have her wake up again within 10 minutes screaming because some air bubble is still in her tummy.  Then we spend a good hour or so cycling between the different possibilities of what could be wrong, (maybe shes actually hungry?  Maybe she needs to poop?  Maybe she’s just mad because we put her to bed?  Maybe she’s overly tired and can’t sleep because of that…?)  It almost always turns out to be a burp lurking around in there, and yet it sometimes takes so long for it to come out that I give up and try other stuff instead, only to find out in the end that it was a burp all along.  Fortunately she hasn’t had any colic in more than a month, except for a couple of isolated episodes, both while visiting friends out of town.  The burping is really nothing compared to colic, so I’m happy to have come this far even if it is still pretty tough and I am totally exhausted.

I also should note that that “early morning” I wrote about in my last post wasn’t really the great idea I’d thought it would be.  By the time 5pm rolled around I was so exhausted I could no longer function.  So I guess all that extra “time” I’d thought I’d gained by getting up early while Olivia was still asleep wasn’t actually time gained after all. Funny how you just can’t beat time.

2 Responses to “Tough Days”


  1. 1 Grand Dad May 23, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    You always want to give a baby a good burp before bed. Then they stay down!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


