My little Gourmet

I have always been a slow eater and often find myself only half-finished when everyone else has long since cleared their plates.  I love food and I like to take my time and enjoy every bite.  But I also enjoy the conversations and time people spend together during a meal.  To me there is absolutely nothing better than spending 5 hours over several courses. And restaurants are always one of my favorite parts of taking vacations.

This is not to say that I am picky or something, I have no problem with burnt fish sticks and broccoli that ended up getting seared to the bottom of the pot since I forgot to add water when steaming.  These kinds of things often come out of my own kitchen and I eat them without complaint.  But I absolutely could not rush a meal to save my life.

So I suppose it should come as no surprise that my daughter is the same way.  She loves to eat and savors every drop of milk.  And she takes a year and a day to do it, too. At 3 months she is still eating every 2-3 hours (except for at night, thank goodness) and often stays at the breast for 30-45 minutes.  Often she will stop eating and “talk” to me for ten minutes; cooing, laughing and gaa-gaaing.

Olivia is laughing at me instead of nursing.

Olivia is laughing at me instead of nursing.

Her eyes turn into little crescent moons, smiling at me with her huge toothless grin.  It’s so cute it’s hard to be annoyed.  But at the same time it is a huge lesson in patience since it really does take forever.  My restless brain wants to jump up and whittle away at my mountain of pending issues.  But I know it isn’t right. She deserves to enjoy her meals, spend time with mommy and not to be rushed.

2 Responses to “My little Gourmet”


  1. 1 motherhoodisanart August 2, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    That is the cutest smile ever!!!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


