Growing Pains

While I am thankful to have such a healthy daughter, I have to admit that it’s been pretty rough on my arms.  Olivia was exactly average when she was born (3,43kg and 55cm long) but ever since then she has been growing like crazy.  She is 17 weeks old now and already weighs about 8.5kg (almost 19 lbs) and is nearly the size of a one-year-old if you go by the sizes printed in her clothes.

My arm muscles, on the other hand have had a difficult time keeping up with her.  I wake up evey morning with my wrists still in pain from the day before. It’s a good thing I didn’t choose to be a professional violinist because this would probably be the end of my career.

The other odd thing which is starting to happen is that people are expecting her to be able to do more than she can do just because she is bigger.  They think she must be older than she really is.  The midwife leading a class I’ve been taking once asked me if I was giving her any tummy time. I was surprised because I give her tons of tummy time, and I think she is actually pretty strong for her age. She can hold up her head really well.  But the midwife thought she was developmentally behind, and I’m pretty sure it’s because of her size.  She looks like she should be at least 6 months old, if you ignore her babyish face and still-jerky movements.

Another funny but annoying thing is that she is outgrowing everythOlivia in the Strollering, and I don’t just mean clothes.  She outgrew the baby bathtub at 2 months, and just a few weeks later was too big for the bassinet, too.  Now she is almost too long for the stroller (she only has about 5 inches of free space from her head to the end) but it will still be months before she can sit up, so I don’t know what we are going to do when we can’t put her in the lay-down stroller…

My midwife says that breastfed babies often grow much faster initially but then slow down a lot.  Lets hope she’s right because my muscles can’t keep up anymore.

2 Responses to “Growing Pains”


  1. 1 Grand Dad June 4, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    All six of you were large at first, then slowed to a crawl for years …

    Olivia will fit in the stroller just fine for many more months. She just won’t be able to stretch out quite so straight.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


