A late night

Crazy.  I don’t even know where to begin.  But maybe it will mean somthing to you when I say that after Olivia finally fell asleep around 1am this morning, she slept for 6 hours solid, woke up quickly to eat, and has been sleeping ever since.  It is now almost 10:30 in the morning, and I’ve spent about 2 hours whittling away at my pile of paperwork doom.  She is exhausted!

She actually had a really good day for naps yesterday… one of the best we’ve had since weeks.  She was also tired extra early, and we very nearly got her to bed by 8:30, since she was yawning and seemed completely ready.  She normally won’t sleep until 10pm, so I was pretty happy and was already about to claim victory and blow my horn about how important good napping is for good nighttime sleep.

All I can say is, too soon.

She didn’t fall asleep at 8:30, instead she seemed to still be hungry, so I fed her again.  Then should couldn’t burp, so we spent a good long time trying to burp her.  We had been waiting all this time to eat dinner, and my stomach was starting to eat itself from the inside out, so Oscar rocked Olivia while I quickly devoured my half of the Schweinebraten and Schumpfnudeln which had been waiting for nearly 3 hours.  Around 9:45 Olivia seemed to be getting more and more awake, and instead of going away, the tummy pains seemed to be getting worse.  We tried the warm cherry-seed bag which had helped us so much back when she had colic.  It didn’t seem to help at all.  Her cries were getting louder and louder.

We tried a bunch of times to lay her in her crib, but she just screamed out as if in pain.  This isn’t normal for her at all so we kept picking her up again and comforting her.  Eventually she couldn’t even be comforted through holding her.  I finally decided that maybe she was still hungry. I felt her tummy and it was pretty flat… normally by the end of the night she has a little potbelly.  I figured it must be empty.   She nursed a little bit, and I could see that Oscar was very upset, even in the dark… “if it was hunger all along, why did you just make her go through all this pain?”  He didn’t actually say it, but I could feel him thinking it.  I felt terrible.  And yet, I don’t know anything about babies either.  I am totally stabbing in the dark, too.

It wasn’t hunger.  After about 5 minutes of lackluster nursing, she started crying again.  By this point it was nearly midnight.  We went back to carrying her around and trying to make her feel better.  It just kept getting worse.  She was making ear-piercing screams.

Oscar suddenly asked me… what if she’s getting teeth?  My heartbeat went into overdrive.  Why didn’t we think of that before?  I had paracetamol in the fridge just for this occasion.  We gave her that, and then I nursed her some more to calm her down, and she went right to sleep.  She woke up one last time at 12:45, and the second I picked her up she was asleep on my shoulder.  After that she was out like a log.

Poor girl is still asleep.  I wonder if it really is a tooth… I guess we’ll find out soon enough.

4 Responses to “A late night”


  1. 1 Grand Dad June 6, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    Sounds like teething pains. Wait until the teeth break through … she has a surprise for you!

  2. 2 Della Diehr June 6, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    yeah, or… ear infections, or… maybe you just ate something too spicy, and she doesn’t like the taste, or…. is she constipated? (impossible) but the worst thing is, it is never the same thing, you just have to go through all the things that used to work. Probably teeth, which goes one for a long time, you can just rub her gums with something cold, or just your fingers, and you can tell if she likes it.

    • 3 christiana83 June 7, 2012 at 8:04 am

      Thanks for the ideas, I actually did try letting her chew on my finger to see if she wanted to “chew”, but it is so hard to tell… she did kind of chew, but was it really enough to mean she was teething…? She didn’t seem so super enthusiastic about it. Well, I guess we’ll find out soon enough 😛

  3. 4 christiana83 June 18, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    I think I’ll follow up on this post since it’s been some time now… we never did find out what caused the pain that night. So far no signs of teeth, although I’ve heard that teething can cause pain on and off for a long time before anything actually pokes through. We haven’t had any more of this kind of pains since that night, though. Thank goodness!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


