Schedule…? What schedule?

I look at all of those “sample schedules” on the baby websites and in my books, and I feel so jealous. Somehow they manage to feed the baby only once every 3-4 hours, get in 3 naps a day, each nearly 2 hours long, so they can cook and take care of the house. And their babies go to bed sometime between 6-8pm, so they have some time to themselves. HOW do they do that?!?! Compared to these crisp, clean schedules, my day looks more like molasses dripping from a bowel onto the countertop. As evening approaches, the molasses is spreading itself all over the place and starting to drip onto the floor. ugh.

Most of our days start off well, but quickly turn into a never-ending cycle of nursing and burping. And if I try to get her to take naps, it’s even more difficult. I know the answer to my problems is to get out of the house more, as my mom keeps telling me. (and she should know, having raised 6 of us!). But somehow I just find it so hard to implement.

I will figure it out though. After all, my sanity is at stake here! Well, if you assume I ever had any, that is.

 

So my resolution for this week is to get out of the house EVERY day before noon. Β Ideally, to get out of the house twice a day, but I don’t want to push it too much. Β πŸ˜‰

8 Responses to “Schedule…? What schedule?”


  1. 1 Sarah June 19, 2012 at 7:13 am

    You never had any sanity… Thats the problem! Good lcuk with your resolution!

  2. 3 eliminationcommunication June 20, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    Schedules are overrated πŸ™‚ Besides, what those snapshot stories don’t say is when schedules inevitably stop working, change, or evolve. My mom keeps a clean house and that’s what I remember most about my childhood. Busy mom (both sahm and wahm), and a clean house. I remember being sent to bed when the sun was still up. IMO that’s not what I want my children to remember about me or being young. I nurse all day, get stuck on the couch with a napping baby and toddler, sling the baby on my back, rangle the toddler and only get rudimentary chores done. Our best days are when I let go and stop worrying about getting things done and focus on the neccessary errands and make the kids a part of the process. When I don’t our days are horrid!.

    • 4 christiana83 June 20, 2012 at 7:58 pm

      I agree, a clean house is pretty much last on my list of priorities… I would rather spend time with my daughter and build a relationship, like you say. But a “few” things do need to get done, like laundry and cooking…
      Well anyways, things are starting to get better now that I am getting out of the house more. Olivia seems to be in a better mood, and she sleeps while we are out and about, making evenings easier, too. I mean, it is still tough, but it’s definately better than before…

  3. 7 slapppshot July 2, 2012 at 4:06 am

    Hmm, dearest Christiana…you need to learn how to use the ‘force’…and then implementing that skill on your young. I promise, it will save you a lot of grief and give you the extra time you need to fulfill your daily chores.
    Either learn to use the ‘force…or just USE force to get what you wish!

    Use google to help you πŸ™‚

    Good Luck…feel like Yoda here πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


