Respect for my Mother

 

Well, we have been doing a lot, and as I mentioned in my last post, I am finally starting to get the hang of this motherhood thing.  It doesn’t leave much time for blogging, so quite a few of my ideas for posts have just sunk down into the mire of wishful thinking.  A few of them I’ve actually started but haven’t finished since the pictures are buried somewhere in the depths of my computer.  Hopefully I will publish those someday too!

Everyone told me that having a baby would turn our lives around 180°.  I only listened with half an ear… I mean, we were never really the “partying” types, and I’ve always enjoyed being around kids.  I loved hanging out with our friends who already had kids, and I was already picturing myself being like them.  On top of all that, I am the oldest of six, and often babysat for my younger siblings (even all five of them at once, once we were older)  I had watched my mom raise us, and picked up a lot of ideas and advice along the way.  I figured most people don’t have this advantage… surely I was more prepared than most.

But when Olivia was born, it was like being hit by a steamroller.  I had had no idea what was coming.  I was exhausted from the birth, had stitches, and was supposed to lay flat as much as I could.  But I was breastfeeding practically around the clock, and not getting anywhere near the amount of sleep I needed.  And since both our mothers were visiting us from overseas, I felt terrible laying in bed.  That phase lasted quite a long time, even with a lot of help from Oscar’s mom, who stayed with us for 3 full months and took care of all the cooking. Without her, I would have been eating frozen pizzas every day.

I have come a long way since then, but even though Olivia is five months old now, the days are still exhausting.  It isn’t as bad of course, but it still is far from easy.  It is 24/7… every day, all day, with hardly any breaks.  Any activity, no matter how simple, becomes hard when you never get a break.  I can easily say that being a mother of a newborn is a hundred times harder than watching five older children for half a day.  But how did my mom do it with 5 children PLUS a newborn?!?!  All I can say is, respect.  I finally understand why a 3-day camping trip was pure stress for her, and nothing even close to a vacation.

I sure am glad that the newborn phase is over.  I know I have my work cut out for me, but I am getting better at it by the day.  Hopefully I will get to be as good at this as my mom was.

4 Responses to “Respect for my Mother”


  1. 1 Grand Dad July 14, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    A day off … you only get a day off when your husband gives up a day.

    • 2 christiana83 July 14, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      I didn’t mean to give the wrong impression of Oscar… of course he helps me out a lot when he is here. On the weekends he plays with Olivia a lot, and also burps her and takes her potty. And he is usually the one to put her to bed every evening, too. But I still don’t really get that much of a break since there is so much other stuff to do around the house, and I take those “breaks” to do the dishes, laundry, etc.

      I didn’t ask for a full day off, but that would be impossible at this point anyways as long as I am breastfeeding.

      And as for older kids who aren’t nursing… well just ask mom weather you taking a day off work ever gave her a “break” 😉

  2. 3 kraehenmutter July 14, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    hast du deiner mutter diese liebeserklärung auch geschickt?
    hach, da kommen einem ja auch als unbeteiligter die tränen…

    und wie gern würde ich sowas schwangeren näher bringen, denn fast immer sagen alle nach den ersten paar wochen mit baby zuhause “DAS hatte ich nicht erwartet, ich habe die gesamte situation völlig unterschätzt…”
    ja, es hört ja aber auch keiner zu!

    • 4 christiana83 July 14, 2012 at 10:40 pm

      ja, sie liesst auch den Blog, aber nur ab und zu… Falls ich nichts von ihr höre dann werde ich es auch per Mail an ihr schicken 🙂 Sie hat es auch echt verdient!
      Ich weiß was du meinst; alle Schwangeren unterschätzen es völlig. Aber ich glaube, daß mann es gar nicht möglich ist, diese Bombe zu erklären… es ist auch einfach zu viel! Ausserdem denken wir doch alle, daß wir es irgendwie doch besser hinkriegen werden.
      Anderseits möchte ich aber auch nicht alle junge Pärchen davon abschrecken, Kinder zu bekommen. Denn es ist sich auch durchaus Wert! Nicht einfach, aber sich lohnen tut es auf jedem Fall.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


