I don’t want to start baby food…

Banana

Photo courtesy of stock.xchng

I know it should be a fun event…. filled with smiles and photographs.  Baby’s first “real food”.  But I’ll be honest, I really don’t want to start.  Olivia is almost six months old, and is making grabs at our plates and spoons… I know it’s time.  I can’t avoid it any longer.  but I’m just not there yet; I love breastfeeding too much.

Breastfeeding is so convenient.  If the baby is hungry you just have to find the nearest bench and sit down.  No preparation time, no warming up… you don’t have to bring anything with you, and there are no dishes to clean.  Breastfeeding really is a gift from God to us busy, overworked mothers.

I realize that when you first start with food, it is only a little bit, and really just once a day.  The rest of the time I still get to breastfeed.  But everything starts small… it’s only a matter of time until I will be fighting with a toddler who only wants to eat bananas with ketchup.  I’m not ready for that!  I’m really not!

We are going to be traveling a lot in the next few months, and I’m also really not excited about dragging baby food on the airplane… I’ve got to admit, it makes breastfeeding pretty darn attractive!

God, why can’t you just slow down the clock a little bit?  I’m not ready for this!  She was just born yesterday!  What is happening to my tiny pink bundle of joy?!  Am I going to wake up tomorrow only to find that she’s turned eighteen?  Oh, the agony.

Olivia at 5 days old

Olivia at 5 days old

Olivia chewing on a toy

Olivia at 5 1/2 months – she is HUNGRY!

18 Responses to “I don’t want to start baby food…”


  1. 1 Judith July 27, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    You don’t have to. My son didn’t eat solids until 14 months. It’s no big deal to delay.

    • 2 christiana83 July 27, 2012 at 6:57 pm

      I know it’s not a big deal to delay a little bit, but how long is too long…? Can you point me to anything with more info? Everyone here is saying that breastmilk doesn’t give enough nutrients after about 6-8 months, but I’m not sure if that’s really true, or just people’s opinions.

      • 3 Judith July 28, 2012 at 3:15 pm

        Christiana,

        As long as your baby is gaining weight, breastfeeding is providing all the nutrition she needs!

        When my son was 9 months old, a pediatrician told me the same story–that I wouldn’t be able to produce adequate nutrition through breastfeeding along. My son continued to exclusively breastfeed for the next six months, during which he gained plenty of weight. Right before he started walking at 11 months, the little monster weighed 30 pounds. He never had a cold, he was very active and engaged, he began saying words, and he seemed to be emotionally in touch with his family. From everything I could see, he was very healthy and lacked nothing nutritionally. He was very reluctant to eat solids–just pushed them out with his little tongue. He was well over a year old before he really started eating.

        This is one of my favorite sites for breasting info (and a lot of other stuff too). Here are two specific articles that deal with solids and breastfeeding:

        http://kellymom.com/nutrition/starting-solids/solids-when/

        http://kellymom.com/nutrition/starting-solids/delay-solids/

        Follow your instincts! If solids aren’t working for you, take a break and try again in a few weeks. If you’re breastfeeding on demand, you’ll provide plenty of nourishment for your baby.

      • 4 christiana83 July 29, 2012 at 12:20 am

        Thanks for the links! I do believe you, and I think that there is a lot of mis-information out there which is really anti-breastfeeding. I also think a lot of paediatricians really are not informed about breastfeeding. We are going to try the solids in the next couple of days (hopefully tomorrow) and see what she does, then we will just go from there. But seriously, she gets excited every time we sit down to have dinner, and she is practically leaping out of her seat to grab food! It’s hilarious! I know that it’s more because she is curious, and I doubt it is hunger. But exploring solids is a great learning experience, so I am kind of getting excited about it now. It is mostly that I am afraid of how fast this transition could be, and I don#t really want to watch her grow up 😦

    • 5 inherchucks July 31, 2012 at 8:04 am

      Thanks for sharing Judith. I started solids with my daughter early on after a strong recommendation from my pediatrician, but Harper never showed interest until about 13 months. She still breastfeeds 50-75% of the time.

  2. 8 eliminationcommunication July 27, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    I so hear you.

    But it helps not to don’t baby food! For now you can give her a spoon to amuse herself and then do babyled weaning (actually baby led solids) — direct to table food. You’ll love it 🙂 http://www.babyledweaning.com and especially read http://www.borstvoeding.com/voedselintroductie/blw/engels.html

    • 9 christiana83 July 27, 2012 at 6:59 pm

      Thanks! Actually I had planned on doing BLW; I’ve read some about it, but not enough to be honest. I followed your links and they are great! I know it will be fun, and it’s definately the way I want to go. But of course… if I could just stick to nursing it would be the easiest 😉 (not that I will actually do that of course)

  3. 12 shoes July 27, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    You are right about the time going by so fast, it just slips away no mater how hard you hold on. I can’t believe my first born is going to be starting 1st grade this fall.

    I don’t think there are any hard and fast rules about when to start with solid foods but if she is showing an interest it might be a sign. But if it will make things easier on you, then wait a while. I started my boys around 6 months but that was because they were preemies and we were always worried about their weight gain. They continued to nurse until they were 18 months, of course the last several months it was only once or twice as a comfort thing (for them as much as me.)

    • 13 christiana83 July 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      Thanks, it does help to hear other people’s experiences 🙂 We are thinking to start slow, with something this weekend (so my husband can be a part of it) but I’m going to let Olivia lead the way. I wasn’t completely honest in my post… I’ve actually already let her suck on a piece of watermelon and an apple… but she didn’t actually eat any of it, it was mostly just play. I suspect that since I’m going to do baby-led weaning probably most of her “eating” will just be play for a while anyways and that’s fine by me. I do plan on breastfeeding her until at least a year, maybe longer depending on how it goes.

  4. 14 christiana83 July 27, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Funny that my replies don’t seem to get posted unless I use my desktop computer… I actually replied to all of you already but they just disappeared! Here goes again..

  5. 15 melaniecarbine July 27, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    The mother I worked with who did BLW, her child was such a pro and healthy too. And, there are advantages to continuing to nurse, something about sharing immunities against cold and flu. Good times.

  6. 17 wanda July 27, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    Babyhood goes by in a blimp it’s true and sad for mommies especially the first time around. Create a small rites of passage ceremony for you, because this is a wondrous milestone, then follow her lead…I promise watching her taste solids for the first time is a joy you really don’t wanna miss either.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


