A Solid Attempt at Solids

Yesterday was the big day!  Although we had playfully given Olivia a few things to chew on over the past weeks (watermelon, apple, pear, a noddle and an orange slice…) all of that was mostly just for fun and she enjoyed sucking the juices out of them.  Well, except for the noodle, which she played with for a while and then spit out.  But I didn’t consider any of that to be “introducing solids”, especially since none of those things are really considered to be good first foods except for the pear.

So after a lot of thought and research, I chose to give Olivia Avocado as her very first solid food.  Avocado is perfect not only nutritionally, but also since she is half Mexican, I feel it is also symbolic.

Plus, they are just really cool looking!

I cut up some long slices which she immediately snatched right out of my hand and put in her mouth!  What success!   She even wanted to wipe her hands in between slices.

Olivia eating a slice of avocado

 

Olivia playing with a paper towel

But instead of mashing it up with her gums, she decided it was better to push it all the way to the back of throat, which of course caused her to gag.  I tried several times with new pieces, always with the same result, until she suddenly barfed up all of the milk she had drunk at her last nursing session all over the floor.  Eww!  Poor Olivia.

Barf all over the floor

So long story short, I don’t think she is quite ready yet.  I might try some avocado mushed up this week, or maybe just wait another week to try again.

It kind of makes sense, since she has been gagging herself constantly with her own fingers, and even her toys if they fit far enough into her mouth.  I am wondering when she’s finally going to realize that “hey, when I put stuff to the back of my throat I  start gagging! ” I’m guessing it’s going to be a while judging by the looks of things.

10 Responses to “A Solid Attempt at Solids”


  1. 1 shoes July 30, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    Poor Olivia! My boys both loved avocado when they were babies. I would mush it up and freeze in in little ice cube trays then serve then a cube or two (defrosted, of course). Now they are 6 and 4 and won’t touch the stuff which makes me so sad since it is delicious and really good brain food.

    • 2 christiana83 July 30, 2012 at 6:30 pm

      Aww, that is too bad! We like to eat avocado in place of butter sometimes, (spread on sandwhiches and stuff) but of course with some salt, or as guacamole it is the BEST. Unfortunately Olivia can’t have any of that stuff yet… boo. I’m sure she’ll figure out the gagging thing soon though, and then she can enjoy everything!

  2. 3 eliminationcommunication July 30, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    Don’t be alarmed with the gagging barf. Believe it or not it is quite normal and they learn really fast not to do that 🙂 Their gagging reflex is also very far forward in the mouth, not back in the throat like an adult so that the food can be expelled well before it gets to the throat. Nature she is smart yes? 🙂

    Have you read the article by Gil Rapely? http://www.borstvoeding.com/voedselintroductie/blw/engels.html It’s really great. we did BLW with Itty bitty and she was tearing apart mango at 9 months and eating apples to the core skin on with no teeth 🙂 This is also a good website: http://www.babyledweaning.com

    I gave my DD avocado spears with skin on. It made gripping easier and she could gum off pieces with more control.

    • 4 christiana83 July 30, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      Yes, I read the article and I’ve also been to http://www.babyledweaning.com, they were really helpful! That’s one of the reasons I chose avocado in the first place. leaving the skin on is a good idea, I think I will try that next time. I tried mashing up some avocado today, but she still gagged on it. Good to know that that is normal and that she will figure it out soon. So you don’t think I need to wait, then?
      I also tried water in a cup today, but she blew bubbles in it instead 😛 Haha I suppose that’s better than inhaling it though.

      • 5 eliminationcommunication July 30, 2012 at 4:34 pm

        Glad the links worked, I was worried they wrnt to spam folder purgatory last time 🙂

        Some babies have a more sensitive gag reflex so it can take them longer to not gag. You can wait for your comfort, but the babies don’t seem to mind exploring food despite it. I never offered my daughter food every day at that age and I gave her whole apples to lick and suck, so for us the gagging wasn’t a big deal. I’d watch her sometimes, gag, barf it up, look at it, and re-eat it unfazed. EWW! LOL It did take me a while to relax about it and then she started food stuffing just to give me gray hair, but then I remembered I did the same thing as a kid. Stuff my face full then swig a drink through it. Oh! Shot glasses work really well for slurpy soup and water for little hands 🙂

      • 6 christiana83 July 30, 2012 at 5:23 pm

        Thanks! Great ideas! Yeah I actually tried to reply to your comments last time, but from my iPad for some reason it doesn’t work. So I have to wait to get to the big computer, and sometimes it takes a few days.

  3. 7 Grand Dad July 30, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    You feed babies mush at this age … mush or liquids.

  4. 9 grammaD July 30, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    ok, I’m for mush, oatmeal with applesauce mixed in, no chewing, just slides down… and the o’l standby – Cheerios, dissolve in the mouth fun to gum..but I told you this before, but I guess it isn’t the internet wisdom? not sure. anyhow you liked it when you were little.

  5. 10 Shana August 10, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    i thought iron rich foods are the best 1st foods??? like mama masticates meat and then hands it off to baby???


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


