The Solids Saga – Part 3 – Cantaloupe

Yesterday I took Olivia to the mall with me, since I was desperately in need of clothes which actually fit.  Those last couple of pregnancy pounds just aren’t making their departure just yet.

We spent quite a long time, and I found tons of clothes, which is good for me since I really don’t like shopping for clothes, and usually don’t find anything I like.  So to celebrate, and to make sure my new clothes don’t get baggy, I decided to take Olivia to the ice-cream Cafè.

Normally I would’ve called up my best ice-cream friend, Lisa, but she’s in Berlin, so Olivia was the only excuse I had.  (Lisa, I miss you!!  When are you coming back?!)

We had the “Cantaloupe Cup”:

The cantaloupe cup - ice cream

The Cantaloupe Cup (minus one piece of cantaloupe, which Olivia has in her hand)

Olivia got to eat the cantaloupes, and I had the cup.

Cantaloupe really seemed to go over well – she chewed and chewed and chewed on it!  I don’t think she actually ate any, but that’s fine.  The good news is, she only gagged herself once, and even then it wasn’t very bad!  but I was keeping a very close eye on her, this being a restaurant and all.

I think the skin being on the cantaloupe helped a lot, and also I took bites out of it to give her a better shape to grip.

She liked it so much that I bought her one to take home!

Olivia with a Cantaloupe in the Stroller

5 Responses to “The Solids Saga – Part 3 – Cantaloupe”


  1. 1 wanda August 2, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Melons are soothing to teething gums. I use to freeze a piece for my son to use as a teether.

  2. 3 Grand Dad August 2, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    In case you didn’t know it, cantaloupe are a favorite family food … we used to raise them on our farm!


  1. 1 Orange Peels Taste Better than Oranges « Insert Cheesy Title Here Trackback on December 6, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


