No, I don’t have to let your dog near my baby.

Today I took Olivia on a walk down to the little corner grocery store near our house.  As we were coming out of the store, two thuggish-looking guys where just finishing tying the leash of their black, boxer-looking dog to the post at the end of the ramp.    I took one look and headed for the stairs, instead.

The guys immediately said – “oh!  Don’t worry!  He’s a good dog – he won’t do anything – go ahead and come down this way!”

“Oh… that’s ok… it’s no problem, only 2 stairs…” I said nicely, already on my way down the stairs.

“Really – he’s perfectly harmless – just come here, you’ll see!”  They said, almost as if they WANTED me to come that way.

“Uh, ha.. ha.. that’s really ok…” I said laughing, ” I’m sure he’s nice, but I’ll go this way, thanks.”

By this point I was already down the stairs and quickly steering my stroller the other way, while they tried to convince me to show the dog to the baby.

I’m sorry, but I don’t know you OR your dog.   What exactly is your agenda, anyways?!

I understand that a lot of dog owners feel put out by all the non-dog people, and want to prove to the world that dogs are actually wonderful and great.  Especially the owners of bulldogs, pit-bulls and rotweilers, which everyone is scared of.  They feel their dogs are mis-understood, and maybe they are.   Really, I believe you, that your dog is a great dog and wonderful friend, and is great with kids and even babies.  I believe you that he would never harm a fly.  But my daughter means the world to me.  I would never put her in a potentially dangerous situation just so that you can prove your point.  Go and prove your point with your own baby.

 

The truth is that even though there may be plenty of dogs out there which ARE harmless, there are also plenty of dogs which have hurt or even killed children.  The owners of the dogs are always shocked that their dog would do such a thing.  “He was always great with her!  He loved her!  We have no idea what made him do it!”  Because you see, love is blind.  I understand, because I could never ever picture my 9-month-old killing a dog with her razor-blade teeth.  But that’s just because I love her… the reality is that she just *might* do it someday to some poor, unsuspecting doggy, and then I am going to just shake my head in wonder and tell the grieving owners that I never thought she had it in her.  After all, she was always harmless before!

This is my impression of a dog. You think I’m harmless, but wait till you fall asleep at night…

 

 

10 Responses to “No, I don’t have to let your dog near my baby.”


  1. 1 Shana November 16, 2012 at 12:39 am

    A quick, “I’ve got severe dog allergies” usually redirects the conversation into the non-confrontation zone. I’ve got a German Shepherd who is great with kids, but personally, I don’t like ANYONE but me or my immediate family to go near him because I’m not hosting an after-school special on how to pet a dog or doing educational outreach & proper dog introduction techniques for someone’s kid. Aside from any liability issues, I’m a huge fan of, “You keep yours by you and I keep mine by me.” This goes for kids and dogs. =) I don’t know, those thugs probably just wanted to get a better look at your ass. 😉

    • 2 christiana83 November 16, 2012 at 12:56 am

      LOL – I totally agree with the “everyone keep to themselves” philosophy. The thing is, most kids are not gentle with dogs, and even well-trained dogs might not react well to that. And what if the dog sees someone as threatening their owner? On top of that, I’ve had so many friends with dogs tell me “oh, he’s just friendly”, when the dog starts jumping all over you. An adult might be able to handle that, but kids not so much…
      Here in Germany, dogs are really REALLY well-trained. Most people let them go everywhere without a leash, even downtown in the middle of huge crowds of people, or on trains! It is pretty impressive, really. But even then, why push the limits? I’ve seen plenty of dogs without leashes who run up to a mom with two little kids, and start sniffing around, and the owner doesn’t even bother to call the dog back to them. I think that’s pretty inconsiderate.

      • 3 Shana November 16, 2012 at 1:28 am

        Yeahhh, so my German Shepherd is from Germany. He was imported to the USA when he was 12 months old. So all his training is from a German kennel. I agree with you, why push the limits of common courtesy or common sense?

      • 4 christiana83 November 25, 2012 at 10:02 pm

        By the way I do love German Shepherds – they are beautiful dogs! Awesome that your’s came from Germany 🙂

  2. 6 yourothermotherhere November 16, 2012 at 1:56 am

    I am in TOTAL agreement with you. You were wise to do what you did and how you handled the situation. Dogs cannot be completely trusted ever. All it takes is one time.

  3. 8 motherhoodisanart November 18, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    That’s awesome!! Good for you for potentially seeing a hazard and getting Olivia away!

  4. 10 Laura4NYC December 4, 2012 at 4:37 am

    Very true, you certainly don’t have to listen to dumbasses trying to show you their “nice” dog if your gut feeling tells you different!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


