Grandparents are Allowed to do Anything

On our trip to Michigan back in August, I had a lot of parenting conversations with my mom.  After all, she has a lot of experience since she raised six of us!  At some point, my mom told me that she didn’t let me have any sweets until I was at least two years old, but that her mom (my Grandma) had given me ice cream behind her back!  We both agreed that that wasn’t ok.

Then, just a day later, my mom and I went out to the grocery store, and we stopped to have chocolate shakes as a treat together.  I went to the bathroom for a few minutes and my mom held Olivia for me.  When I came back, this is what I saw:

My mom pulling the chocolate shake away from Olivia

My mom pulling the chocolate shake away from Olivia

My mom said “She really wanted it, she grabbed it before I could do anything!”  Olivia had chocolate shake running down her chin…

Now, at this point, remember that she was only 6 months old, and hadn’t even started solids yet, let alone dairy, sugar or chocolate!!  A million things could have happened.  Fortunately everything was fine.  In fact, she didn’t even like the shake, probably since it was so cold – she spit it all out.  But she wanted the cup back – probably because of the straw.  Yes, Grandparents can get away with anything.  And I really couldn’t be mad since it was so funny.

12 Responses to “Grandparents are Allowed to do Anything”


  1. 1 Dad December 10, 2012 at 12:58 am

    Olivia spit it all out so that she could get some more …

  2. 3 motherhoodisanart December 10, 2012 at 1:08 am

    Oh Grandmas….yes, I know all about that! Both of Cesar’s grandmas gave him coffee this year!!!

  3. 5 Shana December 10, 2012 at 2:30 am

    Great pic! Love the upside down sippy cup! It says it all!

  4. 7 freshveggies/gingerleaphoto December 10, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    it gets worse … the grandmas in my family run rampant, like they have no parenting skills at all …

  5. 10 mtetar December 10, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    Every child has a mind of his, or her own, and will let you know what they like , or dislike in their own way. Regards, Mtetar


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers


